January 7, 2009

  • Glad to be back…

    My folding bike in Hong Kong

    The gearing on this bike is actually more suitable for riding in Sydney than the one I have in Sydney, but this one can’t take a luggage rack so it’s not really right for riding to uni. Conversely, the bike I have in Sydney has the right kind of gears for climbing the big hills, but it doesn’t fold so it’s not right for Hong Kong. So, this bike stays in Hong Kong (and the one in Sydney stays in Sydney).

    Me saying goodbye to my bike

    “See you this time next year! I’ll miss you.” Yes, I actually said that to the bike… while holding back tears and smiling for the camera. Saying goodbye is the one place where I always get teary.

    Me, Alice, and Sylvia

    Yes. with both of you too, Alice and Sylvia. Alice, I’ll see you around this time next year. Sylvia,  “有緣千里能相會” in English would be “fate brings together people even if they are far apart”. 有機會再見啦。

    My bike under a sheet of green plastic, and my sister's bike in foreground

    My bike is under the green cover now. I’ll get to ride it again next time I go back to Hong Kong.

    Saying goodbye aside, I’m definitely glad to be back to Sydney. I was tired enough after only getting about 3 hours of sleep on the plane, and this year the staff at the airport seemed to be a lot stricter than last time I came back. Someone questioned me about being a permanent resident returning to Australia (even though I have an Australian passport), and then my contact lenses were mistaken for food when my suitcase went through the X-ray machine.

    After just two days to recover from the jetlag, it was time to start summer school. That was tiring. At least I didn’t fall asleep in class! I like summer school though. The intensive course is just right for me.

    Then again, even though I was tired, after having ridden up Blue Pool Road in Hong Kong, North Sydney does seem a lot easier in comparison. The traffic also looks a lot less intimidating for now. xD

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *