December 17, 2008

  • So steep…

    When I’m in Sydney, I ride uphill on my way home every day. I remember when I first started cycling to uni, I often had to pull over twice between the Harbour Bridge and my home because the uphill ride was so tiring. Of course, once I got used to it, I have no trouble riding up those hills.

    Now that I’m back in Hong Kong, it’s time to try something more challenging. I don’t have to look far. Blue Pool Road is right nearby.

    Blue Pool Road: never mind those tiny hills in North Sydney

    So steep

    Here I come!

    I managed to ride up to the Cricket Club. It’s steep like this almost all the way there, which is about 2.5 km altogether. Appropriately, my iPod played “Still Alive” just before I got to the Cricket Club. “This was a triumph. I’m making a note here, HUGE SUCCESS. It’s hard to overstate my satisfaction…” I love it when my iPod does that. I’m glad I didn’t play that song at the beginning. For the start of the ride I chose “Dans ma fusée”. “Three, two, one, zero, rocket takeoff. Are you comfy, Ilona? Have a nice trip!”

    That was last week. Today I decided to try the next part of the challenge, Cricket Club up to Parkview. That’s even steeper.

    I can ride up this steep hill

    Note how much closer I am

    It's steeper than it looks

    Can you even see me in this photo?

    Well, this second part is only about 1.5 km, but it was a lot more tiring. The hill is steeper than it looks in the photo. One thing I can say is, when I look up there it makes me glad that North Sydney isn’t anywhere near this steep.

    I made it up to Parkview. What a shame that my iPod didn’t play “Still Alive” this time. It would’ve been even more appropriate. My legs aren’t that tired, but I could feel my heart beating, and I was out of breath.

    I made it!

    Special shout out to Miss Helen: Now I think I can understand how you feel riding uphill.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *