October 19, 2008

  • Less chocolate and more cycling this week…

    Well, I didn’t have as much chocolate last week. What’s my other main focus? Cycling, of course.

    One of the highlights of the week was the BikeSydney twilight ride, featuring Art and About.

    These Tetris blocks are so cool! Let’s just hope they don’t fall down like in the actual game. xD

    A Tetris block

    Another Tetris block

    And another one

    Ooh, tanks.

    Tanks, tanks, tanks

    This one’s my favourite:

    Stars and clouds thingy

    Can’t really tell what these are… xD

    Not sure what this is...

    This recursive reflection effect is so cool. xD

    Spirally reflective thing

    There was the “Love TV” at Taylor Square.

    Love TV

    On our way there, we saw the star Aphrodite standing at a pedestrian crossing, and she cheered when we went past. xD That was kind of funny. Somehow, this kind of reminds me of my officer title “Cupid domestique” in the group “Love me love my bicycle“.

    Aphrodite, complete with her shell and everything

    Hyde Park also became a gallery for this Art and About thing. Hey, this one has a bicycle in it.

    Nice painting

    This one is so cute!

    It's a dog!

    I like these lanterns too.

    A lantern

    Wednesday was National Ride to Work Day. Now, I normally ride to uni anyway, but with all the people gathered at Bradfield Park for the free breakfast, it’s like having a party in the morning. The food wasn’t particularly good, but it wasn’t too bad either. I drank quite a lot of apple juice. xD

    So many people…

    Cyclists gather at Bradfield Park for free breakfast

    Look at all those people coming down the stairs. Some people are very busy giving them HarbourLink flyers. I can see Russ keeping a tally on the number of people crossing the bridge too. Too bad I wasn’t fast enough to get a photo of the person who wouldn’t take his hands off the handlebars but instead took a flyer with his teeth. That looked kind of interesting. (Then again, I hope the really aggressive flyer-givers at uni don’t see things like that, or they’d be expecting that from me too. Wait, they probably already do… xD)

    Various people are busy giving flyers to those who just came across the bridge

    A closer look at the people giving out flyers.

    Wow, this person rode down the steep ramp on a recumbent bike. Too bad I didn’t get the photo while he was still on the ramp.

    A cyclist riding his recumbent bike down the so-called death ramp

    I stayed around until the last minute and only just made it to uni on time. xD That’s the problem with morning parties. Of course, my iPod and speakers got me quite a lot of attention. As random as it is, I was asked “is that your real hair” again. What an odd question. (Nothing new though. My hairstyle seems to make people think that my hair isn’t real.  >.<; Of course it’s my hair. What else would it be, someone else’s hair? xD)

    Another bike-related photo: a unicycle on the bike rack. I think it’s the first time I’ve actually seen one on a bike rack. This one is slightly awkwardly positioned so that even though it’s smaller than a bicycle, it kind of takes up the slots on both sides. (Then again, I suppose it’s better than the motorcycle standing right next to a bike rack as if it’s camouflaging with the bicycles. xD)

    It's a unicycle at uni... next to the bicycles

    It’d be funny if one day I get a “Hey, that’s my bike!” comment from someone who sees that I’ve taken a photo of their bike. Not only do I check out bikes more often than I check out people, but I go around taking photos of bicycles too. Then again, I don’t really “check out” people at all, so that’s kind of a pointless comparison. xD

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *